NFL Division Winner betting tips: Who will win the four NFC divisions in 2017?

Leigh Copson in Outright Tips 26 Sep 2017
Will the Giants win the NFC East? (credit:Leigh Copson)

The race to Super Bowl LII gets underway in early September and one of the big questions is who will head into the post-season as champions of their division? Leigh Copson has picked out his division winners from the National Football Conference (NFC). 

NFC East Tip

The Dallas Cowboys took the NFC East honours last season, with rookie stars Dak Prescott and Ezekiel Elliott grabbing the headlines, and they should make another push for the post-season this time around. But for me the team to back to win this division are the New York Giants – who swept Dallas in 2016.

On defense they are bringing back 10 of their 11 starters from last season, when they allowed less than 18 points per game (the second best record in the league), and that front four led by Jason Pierre-Paul should be feared. On offense they have added another aerial threat in the form of veteran receiver Brandon Marshall, so the tools are there for them to regain the division crown.

NFC North Tip

In the minds of the bookmakers the NFC North is one of the easiest divisions to call – and that is no real surprise. The Minnesota Vikings raced out of the blocks last season only to win three of their last 11 games to finish 8-8, while the Detroit Lions ended their season with four straight defeats as they were ousted in the Divisional Round of the playoffs. As for the Chicago Bears, the less said the better.

So who will take the NFC North? Of course I am going with the Green Bay Packers.

It is not unfair to say that this is not the strongest Green Bay group we have ever seen, but quarterback Aaron Rodgers remains one of the biggest impact players in the NFL and he has a habit of dragging the team to wins. He led the Packers to six straight victories at the end of last season to snatch the North title from under Detroit’s nose, and he was not done there as he led them all the way to the Championship Game.So how can you bet against Rodgers & Co. ruling over the North once again?

NFC South Tip

The Atlanta Falcons ended the Carolina Panthers’ recent dominance of the NFC South last season, en route to an appearance in Super Bowl LI, but the bookmakers believe they will have a fight on their hands this time around because there is very little separating the Falcons, the Panthers and their other divisional rivals, the Tampa Bay Buccaneers and the New Orleans Saints, in the betting at this time.

In fact, the Bucs could turn out to be the dark horse in the NFC South this season. However, I cannot go against the team I have predicted to represent the conference in Super Bowl LII. Atlanta continue to boast a loaded roster on both sides of the football and not even the loss of offensive co-ordinator Kyle Shanahan will stop them successfully retaining the South title on their way back to the post-season.

NFC West Tip

The bookmakers see this as a two-horse race between the Arizona Cardinals and the Seattle Seahawks, and that is no real shock when you consider these are the only two teams to have won this division since the San Francisco 49ers took the honours in 2012 en route to Super Bowl XVLII. 

Arizona did avoid defeat the Seattle last season – following up a tie at home with yet another win at CenturyLink Field – but their record on the road was woeful and they found consistency hard to come by, winning back-to-back games on just two occasions.

Seattle were hardly dominant themselves, but they continue to boast an excellent defense and Eddie Lacy could prove to be a great addition on the other side of the football if he lays off the extra portions at the dinner table. The Seahawks have won the NFC West in three of the past four seasons so I am going with experience and consistency by backing them to win the division.

BONUS BETS United States
Change Location

Share this with your friends

Your comments:

NFL Division Winner betting tips: Who will win the four NFC divisions in 2017?

Leigh Copson has picked out his division winners from the National Football Conference (NFC).

Read more »

You have unread messages

You have unread messages